Systems Verification Group

About us

Bug We are interested in automated reasoning technology for the construction of systems. We are particularly interested in applying these methods to practical hardware and software im­ple­mentations given in industrial languages such as Verilog, C/C++ or Java. Read more about our work on software analysis or hardware verification.

NEW: MIT Press is now shipping the 2nd edition of the Model Checking book!
Watch the unboxing video!

NEW: Springer is now shipping the 2nd edition of the book on Decision Procedures!

Submit to FMSD!

Recent Publications

Group Members
Staff Martin Brain Daniel Kroening
Youcheng Sun
PhD Students Isaac Dunn
John Galea
Sean Heelan
Natasha Jeppu
MSc Students
Alumni Igor Zinovik, Postdoc
Thomas Witkowski, MSc 2007, Thesis
Samuel Bernet, MSc 2008
Raphael Mack, MSc 2008, Thesis
Thomas Lenherr, MSc 2008, Thesis
Sean Heelan, MSc 2009, Thesis, Hoare Project Prize, now doing a DPhil
Haoxian Zhao, MSc 2009, Thesis, now at Freepoint Commodities
Gerard Basler, PhD ETH 2010, Thesis, now at Leonteq Securities
Nicolas Blanc, PhD ETH 2010, Thesis, now at Avaloq
Georg Weissenbacher, PhD Oxford 2010, Thesis, now Associate Professor at TU Vienna
Mitra Purandare, PhD ETH 2010, Thesis, now at IBM Research
Philipp Ruemmer, now Associate Professor in Uppsala
Christoph Wintersteiger, PhD ETH 2011, Thesis, now at Microsoft Research
Angelo Brillout, PhD ETH 2011, Thesis, now at Avaloq
Thomas Wahl, now Associate Professor at Northeastern University, Boston
Alastair Donaldson, now Reader at Imperial College
Jade Alglave, now at ARM and Reader at UCL
Nannan He, now Associate Professor at Minnesota State University at Mankato
Vijay Victor D'silva, PhD Oxford 2012, now at Google, Thesis
Yury Chebiryak, PhD ETH Zürich 2012, Thesis, now at Amplitude Capital
Ajitha Rajan, now Lecturer at the University of Edinburgh
Vojtech Forejt, now Associate Professor in the CS Department
Michael Tautschnig, now at Queen Mary, University of London, and AWS
Nassim Seghir, now at UCL
Alexander Kaiser, PhD Oxford 2013, Thesis
Leopold Haller, PhD Oxford 2014, now at Google, Thesis
Cesar Rodriguez, now maître de conférences at Université Paris 13
Subodh Sharma, now Assistant Professor at IIT Delhi
Hongyi Chen
Vincent Nimal, PhD Oxford 2015, now at Microsoft Cologne, Thesis
Matt Lewis, PhD Oxford 2015, now at Improbable, Thesis
Samuel Bucheli, now at Zühlke
Ruben Martins, now at CMU
Ashutosh Natraj, now running a startup
Saurabh Joshi, now Assistant Professor at IIT Hyderabad
Björn Wachter, now at SSW Trading
Liana Hadarean, now at AWS
Alex Horn, PhD Oxford 2016, Thesis, now at Fujitsu Labs
Ganesh Narayanaswamy, MSc Oxford 2016
Peter Schrammel, now Lecturer at the University of Sussex
Marco Gorelli, MSc Oxford 2016
Issac Lam, MSc Oxford 2016
Alberto Sadde, MSc Oxford 2016, now at AiFi
David Landsberg, PhD Oxford 2017, Thesis, now RA at UCL
Lihao Liang, PhD Oxford 2017
Cristina David, now in Cambridge
Pascal Kesseli, PhD Oxford 2017, Thesis, now at Diffblue
Rajdeep Mukherjee, PhD Oxford 2017, now at Cadence, Thesis
Lucas Cordeiro, now Senior Lecturer in Manchester
Daniel Poetzl, PhD Oxford 2018, now at Diffblue
Ralph Abboud, MSc Oxford 2018, now doing a DPhil
Marcelo Sousa, PhD Oxford 2018, now at SonarSource
Dario Cattaruzza, PhD Oxford 2018, now at Sportable

A photo taken after a group punting trip, and another taken at a CProver workshop at Chicheley Hall.




This project has received funding from the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under grant agreement no. 280053.